Terracotta

From Minecraft Wiki
(Redirected from Stained Clay)
Jump to: navigation, search
Terracotta
Terracotta.png
White Terracotta.pngOrange Terracotta.pngMagenta Terracotta.pngLight Blue Terracotta.pngYellow Terracotta.pngLime Terracotta.pngPink Terracotta.pngGray Terracotta.pngLight Gray Terracotta.pngCyan Terracotta.pngPurple Terracotta.pngBlue Terracotta.pngBrown Terracotta.pngGreen Terracotta.pngRed Terracotta.pngBlack Terracotta.png
Transparent

No

Luminance

0

Blast resistance

21

Tool

Renewable

Uncolored: Yes‌[Java Edition only]
Other: Yes‌[Java and Bedrock editions only]

Stackable

Yes (64)

Flammable

No

Experience

Smelted: 0.1

Drops

Itself

Data values
Terracotta
dec: 172 hex: AC bin: 10101100
Stained Terracotta
dec: 159 hex: 9F bin: 10011111
Namespaced ID

See § Data values

Terracotta is a block formed from clay, with a hardness and blast resistance comparable to stone. It can be colored in the same 16 colors that wool can be dyed, but more dulled and earthen.

Obtaining[edit]

Terracotta can be mined using any pickaxe. If mined without a pickaxe, it will drop nothing.

Block Terracotta
Hardness 1.25
Tool
Breaking time[note 1]
Hand 6.25
Wooden 0.95
Stone 0.5
Iron 0.35
Diamond 0.25
Golden 0.2
  1. Times are for unenchanted tools in seconds. For more information, see Haste § Instant mining.

Natural generation[edit]

Red, orange, yellow, brown, white, light gray, and uncolored terracotta can be found naturally in badlands biomes. This can yield massive amounts of terracotta. Blue and orange terracotta can also be found in small amounts in desert pyramids. Light blue is found in warm underwater ruins.

In Bedrock Edition and Java Edition, uncolored terracotta can be found in mason houses in plains villages and in some savanna and desert village houses. White terracotta can be found as a housing material in plains villages. Yellow, orange, and red terracotta generates in some houses in savanna villages. Green terracotta generates in the mason houses of desert villages.

Smelting[edit]

Ingredients Smelting recipe
Clay (block) +
Any fuel


Crafting[edit]

Once terracotta has been dyed, the color cannot be changed or removed.

Ingredients Crafting recipe
Terracotta +
Matching Dye

Trading[edit]

Journeyman-level stone mason villagers sell one of 16 colored terracotta for one emerald per 4 terracotta as part of their trades.‌[Bedrock Edition only]

[more information needed for Java Edition]

Usage[edit]

Building[edit]

Terracotta has the same blast resistance as most other stone blocks, which is significantly higher than the block of clay before being smelted. A block of terracotta when one block away from an explosion will protect any blocks behind it, though it will be destroyed in the process.

Smelting ingredient[edit]

Name Ingredients Smelting recipe
Glazed Terracotta Matching Dyed Terracotta +
Any fuel


Data values[edit]

ID[edit]

Java Edition:

Block Namespaced ID
Terracotta terracotta
White Terracotta white_terracotta
Orange Terracotta orange_terracotta
Magenta Terracotta magenta_terracotta
Light Blue Terracotta light_blue_terracotta
Yellow Terracotta yellow_terracotta
Lime Terracotta lime_terracotta
Pink Terracotta pink_terracotta
Gray Terracotta gray_terracotta
Light Gray Terracotta light_gray_terracotta
Cyan Terracotta cyan_terracotta
Purple Terracotta purple_terracotta
Blue Terracotta blue_terracotta
Brown Terracotta brown_terracotta
Green Terracotta green_terracotta
Red Terracotta red_terracotta
Black Terracotta black_terracotta

Bedrock Edition:

Block Namespaced ID Numeric ID
Terracotta hardened_clay 172
Colored Terracotta stained_hardened_clay 159

Block data[edit]

In Bedrock Edition, colored terracotta uses the following data values:

DV Description
0 White terracotta
1 Orange terracotta
2 Magenta terracotta
3 Light blue terracotta
4 Yellow terracotta
5 Lime terracotta
6 Pink terracotta
7 Gray terracotta
8 Light gray terracotta
9 Cyan terracotta
10 Purple terracotta
11 Blue terracotta
12 Brown terracotta
13 Green terracotta
14 Red terracotta
15 Black terracotta

Block states[edit]

In Bedrock Edition, colored terracotta use the following block states:

Bedrock Edition:

Name Default value Allowed values Description
colorwhitewhiteWhite Terracotta
orangeOrange Terracotta
magentaMagenta Terracotta
light_blueLight Blue Terracotta
yellowYellow Terracotta
limeLime Terracotta
pinkPink Terracotta
grayGray Terracotta
silverLight Gray Terracotta
cyanCyan Terracotta
purplePurple Terracotta
blueBlue Terracotta
brownBrown Terracotta
greenGreen Terracotta
redRed Terracotta
blackBlack Terracotta


History[edit]

Java Edition
April 24, 2013Dinnerbone tweets the first picture of the hardened clay block, based on a suggestion by user BlameTheController, to be similar to Native American Pueblos.[1]
1.6.113w17aAdded hardened clay.
13w19aAdded stained clay, colored variants of hardened clay.
1.7.213w36bHardened and stained clay will now generate in mesa biomes.
1.814w03aStained clay will now replace wool in desert temples, making deserts and mesas the only two biomes where hardened/stained clay can generate, if the "Generate Structures" option is on.
1.10Stained clay blocks have been renamed from '<Color> Stained Clay' to '<Color> Hardened Clay'.
1.1217w06aStained hardened clay can now be smelted into glazed terracotta.
17w16aHardened clay and stained hardened clay are now called "terracotta".
17w17aTerracotta now have unique colors on the map.
1.1317w47aThe different block states for the stained_hardened_clay ID have been split up into their own IDs.
Prior to The Flattening, these blocks' numeral IDs were 172 and 159.
17w47bThe ID has been changed from hardened_clay to terracotta.
18w09aTerracotta will now generate in underwater ruins.
1.1418w48aUncolored and white terracotta can be found in plains villages.
18w49aUncolored, yellow, orange, and red terracotta can be found in savanna villages.
18w50aUncolored and green terracotta can be found in desert villages.
19w11aTerracotta can now be obtained from a Expert level Mason villager via trading, making it renewable.
Pocket Edition Alpha
0.9.0build 1Added hardened and stained clay.
build 11Hardened clay can now be used to used to craft stained clay.
Hardened clay can now be obtained by smelting clay blocks.
0.13.0build 1Blue and orange stained clay will now generate as part of desert temples.
Pocket Edition
1.1.0alpha 1.1.0.0Hardened clay and stained hardened clay are now called "terracotta".
Terracotta can now be smelted into glazed terracotta.
Bedrock Edition
1.4.0beta 1.2.20.1Light blue terracotta will now generate in some underwater ruins.
1.10.0beta 1.10.0.3Uncolored, white, green, yellow, orange, and red terracotta now generates in new villages.
1.12.0beta 1.12.0.3Colored terracotta can now be bought from stone mason villagers.
Legacy Console Edition
TU19CU71.12Patch 11.0.1Added hardened and stained clay.
TU31CU191.22Patch 3Hardened and stained clay will now generate naturally in mesa biomes.
Stained clay can now be found in desert temples.
TU43CU331.36Patch 13Stained clay blocks are renamed from '<Color> Stained Clay' to '<Color> Hardened Clay'.
TU53CU431.49Patch 231.0.3Hardened clay and stained hardened clay are now called "terracotta".
New Nintendo 3DS Edition
0.1.0Added terracotta.

Issues[edit]

Issues relating to "Terracotta", "Hardened Clay", or "Stained Clay" are maintained on the bug tracker. Report issues there.

Trivia[edit]

  • Despite the name change, the ID is still hardened_clay and stained_hardened_clay.‌[Bedrock Edition only]

Gallery[edit]

References[edit]