Sculk Sensor

From Minecraft Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Grass Block JE7 BE6.png
This page describes content that may be included in a future update.
These features have appeared in development versions, but the full update containing them has not been released yet.
This page contains content on features that are part of Experimental Gameplay in Bedrock Edition.
These features may be properly added in a future update, but require Experimental Gameplay to be enabled in the current version.
Sculk Sensor
Sculk Sensor JE1.gif
Sculk Sensor
Renewable

No

Stackable

Yes (64)

Tool

Blast resistance

1.5

Hardness

1.5

Luminant

Yes (1)

Transparent

Yes

Flammable

No

Catches fire from lava

No

The sculk sensor is a block that can detect vibrations and emit a redstone signal.

Obtaining[edit]

Sculk sensors can currently be obtained only from the creative inventory or commands.

Breaking[edit]

Sculk sensors can be mined with any tool, but hoes are the quickest.

Block Sculk Sensor
Hardness 1.5
Tool
Breaking time[A]
Default 2.25
Wooden 1.15
Stone 0.6
Iron 0.4
Diamond 0.3
Netherite 0.25
Golden 0.2
  1. Times are for unenchanted tools as wielded by players with no status effects, measured in seconds. For more information, see Breaking § Speed.

Usage[edit]

Light[edit]

Sculk sensors have a light level of 1, which is very inconspicuous. However, when active it visually shows a brighter yellowish light illuminating the surroundings.

Vibration detection[edit]

The sculk sensor vibration particle.

Sculk sensors can detect vibrations in an 8 block radius around it. A vibration is anything that causes physical motion, although there are some motions that are undetectable to sensors by sneaking; these sneak-friendly vibrations include walking, falling to the ground or throwing/shooting projectiles.

Wool has a special interaction with sculk sensors. If a wool block is in the way of a vibration source, the sensor will not be able to detect it. In addition, sensors will not be able to detect walking on wool or throwing wool on the ground.

When a vibration is detected, a signal is sent from the source location to the sensor at a speed of one block per game tick (20 blocks per second). Other vibrations cannot be detected by a sensor when a signal is already travelling to it. When the signal has arrived, the sensor is activated for 40 game ticks (2 seconds). While activated, the sensor cannot detect other vibrations.

Sculk sensors have a cooldown period of 1 tick after being placed or after deactivating. During this short cooldown period, it cannot detect vibrations. This is to prevent it from activating itself when a contraption it is powering is being unpowered.

Sculk sensors don't listen to vibrations that are directly created by other sculk sources.

Sculk sensors can be silent if waterlogged, meaning that it can still detect vibration but don't make a sound while doing so.

Redstone emission[edit]

Sculk sensors emit a redstone signal when they are activated. The strength of the redstone signal is inversely proportional to the distance the vibration signal traveled – the closer the vibration is to the sculk sensor, the stronger the redstone signal is, so it reaches the maximum redstone signal strength when the vibration is directly on top of the sensor.

Vibration frequencies[edit]

Sculk sensors have a unique interaction with comparators. Each vibration in the game falls under a certain frequency value, and this value can be measured with a comparator as redstone output. With the right contraption, this allows the player to detect when a certain action has occurred nearby.

Output Vibration type Game event Description
1 Step minecraft:step An entity walks[note 1]
2 Flap minecraft:flap A flying entity (e.g. a bat) flaps its wings
3 Swim minecraft:swim Entity swimming
4 Elytra Free Fall minecraft:elytra_free_fall Dives down with an elytra
5 Hit Ground minecraft:hit_ground An entity falls from a higher place[note 1]
6 Splash minecraft:splash An entity floats up[note 2]
Wolf Shaking minecraft:wolf_shaking A wolf shakes off water after getting wet
7 Projectile Shoot minecraft:projectile_shoot A projectile is fired[note 1]
8 Projectile Land minecraft:projectile_land A projectile hits something
Eating Finish minecraft:eating_finish Player finishes eating
Entity Hit minecraft:entity_hit An entity is damaged
9 Armor Stand Add Item minecraft:armor_stand_add_item A piece of equipment is added to an armor stand
10 Block Close minecraft:block_close A door, trapdoor, or fence gate closes
Block Unswitch minecraft:block_unswitch A lever is turned off
Block Unpress minecraft:block_unpress A button reverts back to its unpressed state
Block Detach minecraft:block_detach A tripwire is defused
Dispense Fail minecraft:dispense_fail A dispenser fails to dispense an item
11 Block Open minecraft:block_open A door, trapdoor, or fence gate opens
Block Switch minecraft:block_switch A lever is turned on
Block Press minecraft:block_press A button is pressed
Block Attach minecraft:block_attach A tripwire is set
12 Block Place minecraft:block_place A block is placed
Fluid Place minecraft:fluid_place A fluid is dumped out of a bucket[note 3]
Flint And Steel Use minecraft:flint_and_steel_use Flint and steel is used[note 4]
13 Block Destroy minecraft:block_destroy A block is destroyed[note 5]
Fluid Pickup minecraft:fluid_pickup A fluid is scooped up in a bucket
14 Fishing Rod Reel-In minecraft:fishing_rod_reel_in A player reels in a fishing rod
Container Close minecraft:container_close A container closes
Piston Contract minecraft:piston_contract A piston contracts
15 Fishing Rod Cast minecraft:fishing_rod_cast A player casts a fishing rod
Container Open minecraft:container_open A container (e.g. a chest) opens
Explode minecraft:explode Something explodes
Lightning Strike minecraft:lightning_strike Lightning strikes
Piston Extend minecraft:piston_extend A piston extends
  1. a b c Is ignored when crouching.
  2. Despite being an occurrence of splashing, sculk sensors will not detect the sounds of fishing bobbers hooking a fish; this has been confirmed by Mojang to be intentional.[1]
  3. Using fish buckets to breed axolotls does not cause this vibration. This inconsistency is intentional.[2]
  4. Using it to ignite TNT (MC-207673) or creepers (MC-207672) does not yet cause vibrations.
  5. This does not include blocks broken by flowing water (MC-207410), nor redstone dust, redstone repeaters, redstone comparators or any type of rail being broken due to its supporting block being removed (MC-207411). Fire also does not seem to trigger this when a player puts it out (MC-207417). If broken in Creative mode, bee nests and beehives will not cause vibrations (MC-207679).

Sounds[edit]

Java Edition:

SoundSubtitleSourceDescriptionNamespaced IDTranslation keyVolumePitchAttenuation
distance
Block brokenBlocksBreaking the blockblock.sculk_sensor.breaksubtitles.block.generic.break???
Sculk Sensor starts clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is activatedblock.sculk_sensor.clickingsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking???
Sculk Sensor stops clickingBlocksPlays when sculk sensor is deactivatedblock.sculk_sensor.clicking_stopsubtitles.block.sculk_sensor.clicking_stop???
None[sound 1]BlocksFalling on the block with fall damageblock.sculk_sensor.fallNone[sound 1]???
Block breakingBlocksMining the blockblock.sculk_sensor.hitsubtitles.block.generic.hit???
Block placedBlocksPlacing the blockblock.sculk_sensor.placesubtitles.block.generic.place???
FootstepsBlocksWalking on the blockblock.sculk_sensor.stepsubtitles.block.generic.footsteps???
  1. a b MC-177082

Data values[edit]

ID[edit]

Java Edition:

NameNamespaced IDTranslation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensorblock.minecraft.sculk_sensor

Bedrock Edition:

NameNamespaced IDNumeric ID Translation key
Sculk Sensorsculk_sensor?tile.sculk_sensor.name

Block states[edit]

Java Edition:

Name Default value Allowed values Description
power00
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
The sculk sensor's current power level.
sculk_sensor_phasecooldownactive
cooldown
inactive
Whether or not the sculk sensor is active.
waterloggedfalsefalse
true
Whether or not there's water in the same place as the sculk sensor.

History[edit]

October 3, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 1).gifThe sculk sensor is shown off at Minecraft Live 2020.
November 13, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 2).gif The sculk sensor has a new texture and clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
November 23, 2020Sculk Sensor (pre-release 3).gif The sculk sensor has a new clicking animation in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
November 27, 2020Inactive Sculk Sensor JE1.png The sculk sensor has a new final texture in a tweet from Brandon Pearce.
Upcoming Java Edition
1.1720w49aInactive Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Active Sculk Sensor JE1.gif Added sculk sensor with a new inactive and clicking animation.
20w51aEating Start has been removed as an event.
Entity Hit's frequency value has changed from 9 to 8.
Container Close's frequency value has changed from 10 to 14.
Container Open's frequency value has changed from 11 to 15.
Walking on wool no longer causes vibrations.
Throwing wool as an item onto the ground no longer causes vibrations.
Sculk sensors are now silent while waterlogged.
Upcoming Bedrock Edition
1.16.210beta 1.16.210.56Added sculk sensor. It is using a different texture then the one in Java edition.
Wool Occlusion has not yet been implemented to the sculk sensors.

Issues[edit]

Issues relating to "Sculk Sensor" are maintained on the bug tracker. Report issues there.

Trivia[edit]

  • "Sculk" is derived from "skulk," meaning "keep out of sight, typically with a sinister or cowardly motive".[3]
  • Sculk Sensor (calibrated top texture) JE1.png Sculk Sensor (calibrated side texture) JE1.png There are two unused textures, "calibrated_sculk_sensor_top.png" and "calibrated_sculk_sensor_side.png," which were added in 20w49a. Notably, these are derivatives of the block of amethyst texture, potentially implying a planned connection; these could however be placeholder textures.
  • Many of the sounds, most notably the "Block Broken", "Starts Clicking", and "Stops Clicking" noises have a similar sound to the noises made by Soul Sand and Soul Soil.

Gallery[edit]

References[edit]