Demo mode

From Minecraft Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
The message displayed upon loading the demo world.

The demo mode is a demo version of Minecraft for users who have not purchased the game yet and would like to try it out first.

The demo version of Java Edition can be played free-of-charge by registering a Mojang Studios account (now known as a Minecraft Account) and logging into the Minecraft launcher, designed to replace the functionality of the outdated PC Gamer demo. This demo version consists of a single seed which can be played for up to 1 hour and 40 minutes.

Functionality

The demo version functionally serves to allow players to try out the game before making the decision to buy Minecraft. It allows players to play on a single world for a 100-minute (5 in-game days) period before the map is locked and required to be reset.

While the demo version does not expire, it comes with certain restrictions, as its sole purpose is to allow new players to try out Minecraft.

Restrictions

Java Edition

The following restrictions apply when playing the game in demo mode:

  • The demo map is preset and always generates with the same seed: -343522682.
  • Only Survival mode is accessible.
  • Multiplayer servers are inaccessible, although LAN multiplayer is allowed, with the limitation that only 1 demo account is allowed on a server (this is because the default Minecraft name ('Player') cannot be changed).
  • The game time is limited to five in-game days (1 hour and 40 minutes real time). After the time runs out, players can still navigate through the world, but not interact with it. Resetting the demo world also resets the demo timer.
    • Changing the in-game time forcibly with commands or external programs can reset the timer.

Bedrock Edition

In November 2018, a trial version for Android named "Minecraft Trial" was released in most countries. However, restrictions still apply; for example, some blocks and items are removed, including barriers and command blocks (all types).

  • There is also a trial version for Windows 10[1] and PlayStation 4.[2]

It has the following restrictions:

  • The time limit is 90 minutes.
  • The player isn't able to play Multiplayer, including LAN multiplayer. On PlayStation 4, split-screen multiplayer is possible.
  • The player isn't able to change Global Resources and Add-ons.
  • The player is restricted to Survival mode.
  • The player is restricted from changing Cheats and World Options parts off.
  • The player is restricted from changing Trust Player Permissions.
  • The player is restricted from accessing Storage.
  • The player cannot change the world seed.
    • Worlds always generate with the seed: 1537846859.
  • The player is restricted to Infinite world type.

History

Java Edition
1.3.112w16aDemo mode added. During the snapshot releases, minecraft.jar must be launched directly with -demo parameter.
1.3.2Users can play the demo mode in minecraft.net.[is this the correct version?]
1.6.2The latest launcher version (1.3.4) allows players who have not yet bought Minecraft to play the game's demo.[is this the correct version?]
1.7.2Users can no longer play the demo mode in minecraft.net.
1.1217w13aThe startup message was changed to say "Check the advancements for hints" instead of "Check the achievements for hints".
1.13?Changed world spawn point.
Pocket Edition Alpha
0.2.1A demo version was released, but was never updated and was eventually removed from app stores.
0.12.0?This version was released in the Windows Store for the Windows 10 Edition, including its demo version.
Bedrock Edition
1.2.0?Bedrock Edition was released, including its demo version for Windows 10.
1.7.0?Trial version for Android was released on Google Play Store with a different app logo (grass path logo). The version of the app was 1.7.9.0.
1.14.0releaseBedrock Edition for PlayStation 4 was released, including its demo version.

Trivia

  • The demo mode can be played by all players regardless of whether they have yet purchased the game.
  • It is possible to install modifications on the Java Edition demo.
  • Servers can be started with the --demo flag (this is technically what the launcher does). Everyone who joins the server sees the demo message.
  • If one tries to play a demo version prior to 1.3 from the launcher using a non-premium account, they can play the full version.
    • This is because 1.3 is the version that added the demo mode to Minecraft, so earlier versions do not have the code necessary to recognize that they are in the demo.
  • Typing in "North Carolina" in the seed screen of the full version gives the same world seed as the demo version.‌[Java Edition only]
  • The “Forest Glade” in the seed picker of the full version gives the same world seed as the Minecraft Trial ‌[Bedrock Edition only]
  • It is possible to play in game modes other than Survival in the demo mode by opening up the world to LAN with cheats enabled and executing /gamemode command. This does not remove the time limit, nor the demo message. ‌[Java Edition only]
  • If the game is quit without clicking "Save & Quit", the game does not save.[verify]
  • If the Minecraft shortcut and directory is moved to another hard drive, etc., it remains in the demo version, and the previous worlds do not appear.
  • It is possible to enter the server list by opening to LAN and enabling cheats, then executing the /kick @s command to see the option to go back to server list. However, servers cannot be joined due to an invalid session.
  • If a world is downloaded, it can be played by putting the world folder in "saves" and renaming it to "Demo_World". If there is already "Demo_World", it must be first renamed or deleted.
    • There is a chance that the demo timer has decreased or expired. This is due to the timer being used by the world creator while building the world.
  • You can complete the game, because the game doesn't restrict anything besides the time limit and one demo world.

Gallery

Java Edition

Pocket Edition

Bedrock Edition

See also

References