Carpet

From Minecraft Wiki
(Redirected from Blue Carpet)
Jump to: navigation, search
Carpet
White Carpet.pngOrange Carpet.pngMagenta Carpet.pngLight Blue Carpet.pngYellow Carpet.pngLime Carpet.pngPink Carpet.pngGray Carpet.pngLight Gray Carpet.pngCyan Carpet.pngPurple Carpet.pngBlue Carpet.pngBrown Carpet.pngGreen Carpet.pngRed Carpet.pngBlack Carpet.png
Transparent

Yes

Luminance

0

Blast resistance

0.5

Tool

Any tool

Renewable

Yes

Stackable

Yes (64)

Flammable

Yes

Drops

Itself

Data value

dec: 171 hex: AB bin: 10101011

Name

See § Data values

Carpets are thin blocks which are mainly used for decoration.

Obtaining[edit]

Carpets can be mined using any tool, or without a tool. Unlike wool, carpets are not destroyed quicker when using shears.

Block Carpet
Hardness 0.1
Breaking time
Hand 0.2

Natural generation[edit]

White, light gray and red carpet can be found in igloos.

All carpet colors except for orange generate within woodland mansions.

The tables in village libraries each contain two brown carpets. Small huts in villages can also contain one brown carpet.‌[Legacy Console Edition only]

Yellow, orange, white, red, blue, purple, lime, and green carpets generate in villages.‌[BE only][upcoming: JE 1.14]

Crafting[edit]

Name Ingredients Crafting recipe Description
Carpet Matching Wool
Carpet White Carpet +
Matching Dye
[BE & PS4 only][upcoming: JE 1.14]
White Carpet Any Dyed Carpet +
Bleach


[Bedrock and Education editions only]

Trading[edit]

Apprentice-level shepherd villagers have a 132 (3.125%) chance to sell one of 16 types of carpets as part of their trades. They sell 4 carpets of the same color for an emerald.‌[upcoming: BE 1.11.0]

Usage[edit]

Carpet has the same thickness as a pressure plate. It has a hitbox of 116 of a block and covers the entire surface of the block it is placed on, unlike pressure plates.

Carpet can be placed on any block, including non-solid blocks.

Carpet can be pushed and pulled by pistons but will pop off if pushed onto a hole or pulled downwards. It can also break falling sand and gravel.

Carpet is an opaque block but does not decrease light going through it. Because of this and the fact that it can be placed on any block, a common decorative strategy is to place carpet on glowstone, illuminating a room and hiding the light source at the same time.

Carpet can be placed over water blocks, but to do so you must target an adjacent block with a visible hitbox.

Carpets can be used to give llamas a distinct saddle pattern.

Fuel[edit]

Carpet can be used as a fuel in furnaces, smelting 0.335 items per carpet square.‌[Java and Legacy Console editions only]

Breaking tall grass[edit]

When replacing the top half of tall grass, the grass will break and the carpet will drop as an item.‌[Java and Bedrock editions only]

Data values[edit]

ID[edit]

Java Edition:

Block Name ID
White Carpet white_carpet
Orange Carpet orange_carpet
Magenta Carpet magenta_carpet
Light Blue Carpet light_blue_carpet
Yellow Carpet yellow_carpet
Lime Carpet lime_carpet
Pink Carpet pink_carpet
Gray Carpet gray_carpet
Light Gray Carpet light_gray_carpet
Cyan Carpet cyan_carpet
Purple Carpet purple_carpet
Blue Carpet blue_carpet
Brown Carpet brown_carpet
Green Carpet green_carpet
Red Carpet red_carpet
Black Carpet black_carpet

Bedrock Edition:

Block Name ID Numeric ID
Carpet carpet 171

Block data[edit]

In Bedrock Edition, carpet uses the following data values:

DV Description
0 White Carpet
1 Orange Carpet
2 Magenta Carpet
3 Light Blue Carpet
4 Yellow Carpet
5 Lime Carpet
6 Pink Carpet
7 Gray Carpet
8 Light Gray Carpet
9 Cyan Carpet
10 Purple Carpet
11 Blue Carpet
12 Brown Carpet
13 Green Carpet
14 Red Carpet
15 Black Carpet

Video[edit]

History[edit]

Java Edition
1.6.113w16aAdded carpets.
Crafting returned 1 carpet from two wool, until 13w17a.
Carpet's hitbox height was 0; a consequence of this was that mobs could spawn on carpet as long as the block underneath the carpet supported the mob spawning, until 1.8.
13w17aCrafting now returns 3 carpets from two wool.
13w24bCarpets can be placed on top of any block, including non-solid blocks.
1.7.213w41bCarpets are now flammable.
1.814w29aCarpets now have a hitbox height of 116 of a block instead of 0. As a result of this, mobs can no longer spawn on carpet.
1.915w43aWhite and light gray carpets now generate on the floors of igloos, and red carpets in igloo basements.
1.1116w33aCarpet can now be used in furnaces, lasting for 0.33 smelting cycles.
16w35aCarpets now last for 0.335 smelting cycles.[1]
16w39aCarpets now generate naturally within woodland mansions.
Carpets may now be used to saddle llamas.
16w44aWhite carpet is now called "White Carpet" rather than just "Carpet".
1.1217w06aCarpets now have a more saturated appearance.
1.1317w47aThe different block states for the carpet ID have been split up into their own IDs.
Prior to The Flattening, this block's numeral ID was 171.
Upcoming Java Edition
1.1418w43aCrafting recipe for carpet is changed. The recipe now requires a dye surrounded by white carpet.
Pocket Edition Alpha
0.8.0build 2Carpets added with all 16 colors. Only red carpets can be crafted in Survival.
0.9.0build 1Brown carpets now naturally generate in villages.
All carpets can now be obtained in survival mode.
Pocket Edition
1.0.0alpha 0.17.0.1White and light gray carpets now generate on the floors of igloos, and red carpets in igloo basements.
1.1.0alpha 1.1.0.0Carpets now generate naturally within woodland mansions.
Carpets may now be used to saddle llamas.
Now have a more saturated appearance.
Bedrock Edition
1.4.0beta 1.2.20.1White carpets can now be crafted from colored carpets and bleach, when Education Edition features are enabled.
1.10.0beta 1.10.0.3White carpets can now be dyed from the crafting table.
Various carpets now generate in new villages.
Upcoming Bedrock Edition
1.11.0beta 1.11.0.4Carpets can now be bought from shepherd villagers.
Legacy Console Edition
TU14CU11.04Patch 11.0.1Added carpets.
TU54CU441.52Patch 241.0.4Carpets can now be placed on top of upside-down stairs.
Carpets may now be used to saddle llamas.
PlayStation 4 Edition
1.90The crafting recipe for carpet is changed. The recipe now requires a dye surrounded by white carpet.
New Nintendo 3DS Edition
0.1.0Added carpets.

Carpet colors before Java Edition 1.12[edit]

Issues[edit]

Issues relating to "Carpet" are maintained on the bug tracker. Report issues there.

Trivia[edit]

  • If the player sprints across a carpet, the particle effects are those of the blocks that are directly below it.
  • Carpets will not prevent the formation of ice.
  • Carpets can safely be placed on top of farmland, although it will not protect the farmland from jumping entities.

Gallery[edit]

References[edit]