Share

Share

Hardcore

From Minecraft Wiki
(Redirected from Hardcore (game mode))
Jump to: navigation, search

Hardcore mode is a game mode variant of survival, differing primarily by the lack of the ability to respawn (instead, the world is deleted) and change difficulty.

Hardcore button.png

Features[edit]

While playing hardcore mode, the game is set to “hardcore” difficulty, which only differs from “hard” difficulty in that it cannot be changed to another difficulty while playing the world and you also cannot enable cheats or bonus chests. Also in that if the player dies, the world is deleted and the player is taken to the title screen. In the world selection screen, it will say that the world is in hardcore mode in bold, red letters, as a warning.

A hardcore mode button posted on Twitter by Notch[1]

When the player dies, the game over screen only offers a button to delete the world save instead of survival mode’s Respawn and Title menu buttons. The world save still exists until the button is pressed, leaving the opportunity for one to keep their world by using 3rd party tools. Exiting the client and loading the world again only reloads the game at the game over screen. However, you can go into the .minecraft folder and find the hardcore world save. Copy it before you die, paste it somewhere safe, and you can drag it back into the .minecraft folder to start the world from there.

Multiplayer[edit]

Hardcore Mode has been made an option for multiplayer, and its functions are similar (more so since Single Player now runs on a multiplayer database). Dying while in the server does not give the player a respawn button, replaced with a button prompting the player to "Leave Server". When clicked, the player gets the message "You have died. Game over man, it's game over!", as well as: "Banned from server" "Reason: Death on hardcore". If you try to reconnect to the server, it says "You are banned from this server!".

It is possible for a server admin to allow a player to rejoin after death, but the admin will need to stop the server and edit server files: First, deleting the player data from (Map name)> players > (deadplayer).dat, then going into the banned-players.txt and erasing the relevant data under the index ( banned by | banned until | reason). The admin can then restart the server and the affected player can spawn again. However, the player will appear at the original spawn point with no items, armor, or levels (because their player data has been deleted).

Tutorial[edit]

For a complete guide on how to survive in Hardcore mode, read the Hardcore mode tutorial.

Video[edit]

History[edit]

Official release
1.0.0 Beta 1.9-pre2 Hardcore mode added.
1.3 12w17a The "Bonus Chest" and Cheats options cannot be enabled in Hardcore mode.
12w18a Hardcore mode can now be used in multiplayer.

Trivia[edit]

  • In the world selection screen, Hardcore mode is written in red.
  • When a world in hardcore mode is played on a version before its release, the world is permanently converted into a standard survival world.
  • The idea of Hardcore mode came to Notch from a Minecraft gameplay blog on the PC Gamer site.[2]
  • When Notch announced hardcore mode on Twitter, he jokingly posted an image of an "Ultra Hardcore" mode where the premium status of the player's user account is revoked on death.[3]
  • It is actually possible to play a different type of "Ultra Hardcore" by opening to LAN and entering the command /gamerule naturalRegeneration false. This will make it impossible to heal without healing potions, golden apples or beacon with regeneration effect. After entering this command, you can close the game and reopen it to avoid the possibility to enter commands.
    • The level.dat file can also be opened with an NBT editor and the gamerule naturalRegeneration changed manually to false to never regenerate health without items.
  • It is actually possible to respawn in hardcore mode, via defeating the Ender Dragon and activating the credits, after which you will promptly respawn, without world deletion or death.
  • Many Minecraft enthusiasts played hardcore mode before the official version was released. It was simply on the honor system to delete your world if you died. This was often called an "Ironman" game.
  • Via hacking, it is possible to play a cross between hardcore and creative mode. The player can fly and place infinite blocks like in creative mode, but the world will be deleted upon death. This is because hardcore is not technically a game mode and is actually a separate variable in the level.dat.
    • Unlike game modes, Hardcore is not player-specific. This means you can't have a multiplayer server where some players are hardcore and some are not.
    • A simple way to access creative mode while in hardcore mode is to go to the pause screen and select "Open to LAN", and click "Enable Cheats". Then use any command you wish.
  • The hardcore hearts differs from the normal survival hearts (see gallery) - the hardcore heart has "angry eyebrows" while the normal survival heart doesn't.

Gallery[edit]

References[edit]