Share

Share

IntroAchievements.png

Block

From Minecraft Wiki
(Redirected from Blocks)
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains content on features that may be included in the next update.
These features have appeared in development versions, but the full update containing these features has not been released yet.
All blocks as of 1.8

Blocks are the basic units of structure in Minecraft. Together, they build up the in-game environment and can be mined and utilized in various fashions.

Textures

The textures on the faces of blocks are 16×16 pixels. Most blocks are proportionately one cubic meter by default, but their shape can be changed using models. Most blocks also have static textures, though water, lava, portal, fire, sea lantern and prismarine blocks are animated. All blocks, with the exception of sand, red sand, gravel, anvils and dragon eggs ignore gravity.

Using resource packs, the player can change the textures of blocks, including whether their texture is animated. They can also change the shapes of blocks using models and the size of blocks to any size with equal width and height, though sizes that are a power of two tend to work better.

World-generated blocks

I Has a different ID as an inventory item.
D Use the item's Damage field to define its durability.
S Requires additional data from the saved game's Data array to fully define the block.
B Requires additional data in the item's Damage field to fully define the inventory item.
E Requires a block entity to store additional data.
Red Cannot be legitimately obtained. Only available using the /give command or via inventory editors.
Light Blue Cannot be obtained no matter what. (Some can be placed using /setblock)
Blue Available in Creative mode by item list.
Purple Available in Creative mode by block picking.
Teal Can be obtained by trading with villagers or in Creative mode.
Green Only available by having Enchanted tools or in Creative mode.
Lime Green Only available by having Enchanted tools or via use of /give or inventory editors, but unobtainable in the Creative mode menu.
Gray Unused data.

The Overworld

Naturally generated

"Naturally generated" includes blocks that are created through the world seed.

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Stone.png 1 1 minecraft:stone Stone S B
Grass.png 2 2 minecraft:grass Grass Block
Dirt.png 3 3 minecraft:dirt Dirt S B
Bedrock.png 7 7 minecraft:bedrock Bedrock
Water.png 8 8 minecraft:flowing_water Water S
Lava.png 10 A minecraft:flowing_lava Lava S
Sand.png 12 C minecraft:sand Sand S B
Gravel.png 13 D minecraft:gravel Gravel
Gold Ore.png 14 E minecraft:gold_ore Gold Ore
Iron Ore.png 15 F minecraft:iron_ore Iron Ore
Coal Ore.png 16 10 minecraft:coal_ore Coal Ore
Wood.png 17 11 minecraft:log Wood S B
Leaves.png 18 12 minecraft:leaves Leaves S B
Lapis Lazuli Ore.png 21 15 minecraft:lapis_ore Lapis Lazuli Ore
Sandstone.png 24 18 minecraft:sandstone Sandstone S B
Tall Grass.png 31 1F minecraft:tallgrass Grass S B
Dead Bush.png 32 20 minecraft:deadbush Dead Bush
Dandelion.png 37 25 minecraft:yellow_flower Dandelion
Poppy.png 38 26 minecraft:red_flower Flower S B
Brown Mushroom.png 39 27 minecraft:brown_mushroom Brown Mushroom
Red Mushroom.png 40 28 minecraft:red_mushroom Red Mushroom
Diamond Ore.png 56 38 minecraft:diamond_ore Diamond Ore
Icon Dec Hex Name Block
Redstone Ore.png 73 49 minecraft:redstone_ore Redstone Ore
Snow.png 78 4E minecraft:snow_layer Snow S B
Ice.png 79 4F minecraft:ice Ice
Snow (Block).png 80 50 minecraft:snow Snow
Cactus.png 81 51 minecraft:cactus Cactus S
Clay Block.png 82 52 minecraft:clay Clay
Sugar Canes.png 83 53 minecraft:reeds Sugar Cane I S
Pumpkin.png 86 56 minecraft:pumpkin Pumpkin S
BrownMushroomCap.png 99 63 minecraft:brown_mushroom_block Brown Mushroom (block) S
RedMushroomCap.png 100 64 minecraft:red_mushroom_block Red Mushroom (block) S
Melon (Block).png 103 67 minecraft:melon_block Melon
Vines.png 106 6A minecraft:vine Vines S
Mycelium.png 110 6E minecraft:mycelium Mycelium
Lily Pad.png 111 6F minecraft:waterlily Lily Pad
Cocoa Plant.png 127 7F minecraft:cocoa Cocoa I S
Emerald Ore.png 129 81 minecraft:emerald_ore Emerald Ore
White Stained Clay.png 159 9F minecraft:stained_hardened_clay Stained Clay S B
Leaves.png 161 A1 minecraft:leaves2 Leaves (Acacia/Dark Oak) S B
Acacia Wood.png 162 A2 minecraft:log2 Wood (Acacia/Dark Oak) S B
Hardened Clay.png 172 AC minecraft:hardened_clay Hardened Clay
Packed Ice.png 174 AE minecraft:packed_ice Packed Ice
Sunflower.png 175 AF minecraft:double_plant Large Flowers S B

Naturally created

These are blocks that were created by natural events, such as water and lava creating obsidian.

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Stone.png 1 1 minecraft:stone Stone S B
Grass.png 2 2 minecraft:grass Grass Block
Dirt.png 3 3 minecraft:dirt Dirt S B
Cobblestone.png 4 4 minecraft:cobblestone Cobblestone
Water.png 8 8 minecraft:flowing_water Water S
Brown Mushroom.png 39 27 minecraft:brown_mushroom Brown Mushroom
Red Mushroom.png 40 28 minecraft:red_mushroom Red Mushroom
Obsidian.png 49 31 minecraft:obsidian Obsidian
Fire.png 51 33 minecraft:fire Fire S
Snow.png 78 4E minecraft:snow_layer Snow S B
Ice.png 79 4F minecraft:ice Ice
Cactus.png 81 51 minecraft:cactus Cactus S
Sugar Canes.png 83 53 minecraft:reeds Sugar Cane I S
Vines.png 106 6A minecraft:vine Vines S
Mycelium.png 110 6E minecraft:mycelium Mycelium

Structures

Same as "naturally generated", but these blocks are created with the "generate structures" option enabled.

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Cobblestone.png 4 4 minecraft:cobblestone Cobblestone
Oak Wood Planks.png 5 5 minecraft:planks Wood Planks S B
Water.png 8 8 minecraft:flowing_water Water S
Lava.png 10 A minecraft:flowing_lava Lava S
Gravel.png 13 D minecraft:gravel Gravel
Wood.png 17 11 minecraft:log Wood S B
Sponge.png 19 13 minecraft:sponge Sponge S B
Dispenser.png 23 17 minecraft:dispenser Dispenser S E
Sandstone.png 24 18 minecraft:sandstone Sandstone S B
Sticky Piston.png 29 1D minecraft:sticky_piston Sticky Piston S
WebBlock.png 30 1E minecraft:web Cobweb
White Wool.png 35 23 minecraft:wool Wool S B
Block of Gold.png 41 29 minecraft:gold_block Block of Gold
Stone Slab.png 43 2B minecraft:stone_slab Stone Slab S B
TNT.png 46 2E minecraft:tnt TNT
Bookshelf.png 47 2F minecraft:bookshelf Bookshelf
Moss Stone.png 48 30 minecraft:mossy_cobblestone Moss Stone
Torch.png 50 32 minecraft:torch Torch S
Monster Spawner.png 52 34 minecraft:mob_spawner Monster Spawner E
Oak Wood Stairs.png 53 35 minecraft:oak_stairs Oak Wood Stairs S
Chest.png 54 36 minecraft:chest Chest S E
Redstone (Wire,Inventory).png 55 37 minecraft:redstone_wire Redstone Wire I S
Crafting Table.png 58 3A minecraft:crafting_table Crafting Table
Crops.png 59 3B minecraft:wheat Wheat S
Farmland.png 60 3C minecraft:farmland Farmland S
Icon Dec Hex Name Block
Furnace.png 61 3D minecraft:furnace Furnace S E
Wooden Door.png 64 40 minecraft:wooden_door Oak Door I S
Ladder.png 65 41 minecraft:ladder Ladder S
Rail.png 66 42 minecraft:rail Rail S
Cobblestone Stairs.png 67 43 minecraft:stone_stairs Cobblestone Stairs S
Lever.png 69 45 minecraft:lever Lever S
Stone Pressure Plate.png 70 46 minecraft:stone_pressure_plate Stone Pressure Plate S
Iron Door.png 71 47 minecraft:iron_door Iron Door I S
Wooden Pressure Plate.png 72 48 minecraft:wooden_pressure_plate Wooden Pressure Plate S
Stone Button.png 77 4D minecraft:stone_button Stone Button S
Fence.png 85 55 minecraft:fence Fence
Redstone (Repeater, Inactive).png 93 5D minecraft:unpowered_repeater Redstone Repeater (inactive) I S
Stone.png 97 61 minecraft:monster_egg Monster Egg S B
Stone Brick.png 98 62 minecraft:stonebrick Stone Bricks S B
Iron Bars.png 101 65 minecraft:iron_bars Iron Bars
Glass Pane.png 102 66 minecraft:glass_pane Glass Pane
Cauldron.png 118 76 minecraft:cauldron Cauldron I S
End Portal Frame.png 120 78 minecraft:end_portal_frame End Portal Frame S
Sandstone Stairs.png 128 80 minecraft:sandstone_stairs Sandstone Stairs S
Tripwire Hook.png 131 83 minecraft:tripwire_hook Tripwire Hook S
Tripwire.png 132 84 minecraft:tripwire Tripwire I S
Flower Pot.png 140 8C minecraft:flower_pot Flower Pot I S E
Carrot (Block).png 141 8D minecraft:carrots Carrot I S
Potatoes (Block).png 142 8E minecraft:potatoes Potato I S
Prismarine.png 168 A8 minecraft:prismarine Prismarine S B
Sea Lantern.png 169 A9 minecraft:sea_lantern Sea Lantern

The Nether

Naturally generated

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Bedrock.png 7 7 minecraft:bedrock Bedrock
Lava.png 11 B minecraft:lava Stationary Lava S
Gravel.png 13 D minecraft:gravel Gravel
Brown Mushroom.png 39 27 minecraft:brown_mushroom Brown Mushroom
Red Mushroom.png 40 28 minecraft:red_mushroom Red Mushroom
Fire.png 51 33 minecraft:fire Fire S
Netherrack.png 87 57 minecraft:netherrack Netherrack
Soul Sand.png 88 58 minecraft:soul_sand Soul Sand
Glowstone.png 89 59 minecraft:glowstone Glowstone
Nether Quartz Ore.png 153 99 minecraft:quartz_ore Nether Quartz Ore

Naturally created

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Lava.png 10 A minecraft:flowing_lava Lava S
Brown Mushroom.png 39 27 minecraft:brown_mushroom Brown Mushroom
Red Mushroom.png 40 28 minecraft:red_mushroom Red Mushroom
Obsidian.png 49 31 minecraft:obsidian Obsidian
Portal.png 90 5A minecraft:portal Nether Portal

Structures

These blocks are generated as part of nether fortresses.

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Monster Spawner.png 52 34 minecraft:mob_spawner Monster Spawner E
Chest.png 54 36 minecraft:chest Chest S E
Soul Sand.png 88 58 minecraft:soul_sand Soul Sand
Nether Brick.png 112 70 minecraft:nether_brick Nether Brick
Nether Brick Fence.png 113 71 minecraft:nether_brick_fence Nether Brick Fence
Nether Brick Stairs.png 114 72 minecraft:nether_brick_stairs Nether Brick Stairs S
Nether Wart.png 115 73 minecraft:nether_wart Nether Wart I S

The End

Naturally generated

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Bedrock.png 7 7 minecraft:bedrock Bedrock
Obsidian.png 49 31 minecraft:obsidian Obsidian
End Stone.png 121 79 minecraft:end_stone End Stone
End Rod.png 198 C6 minecraft:end_rod End Rod
Chorus Plant.png 199 C7 minecraft:chorus_plant Chorus Plant
Chorus Flower.png 200 C8 minecraft:chorus_flower Chorus Flower
Purpur Block.png 201 C9 minecraft:purpur_block Purpur Block
Purpur Pillar.png 202 CA minecraft:purpur_pillar Purpur Pillar
Purpur Stairs.png 203 CB minecraft:purpur_stairs Purpur Stairs
Purpur Slab.png 205 CD minecraft:purpur_slab Purpur Slab
End Stone Bricks.png 206 CE minecraft:end_bricks End Stone Bricks

Naturally created

Icon Dec Hex Name Block
0 0 minecraft:air Air
Bedrock.png 7 7 minecraft:bedrock Bedrock
Obsidian.png 49 31 minecraft:obsidian Obsidian
Torch.png 50 32 minecraft:torch Torch S
End Portal.png 119 77 minecraft:end_portal End Portal E
Dragon Egg.png 122 7A minecraft:dragon_egg Dragon Egg

Technical blocks

Technical blocks. Most of the items in this image are no longer available in the current Minecraft version.

Technical blocks are blocks whose main functions are strictly tied to the usage of other blocks. They cannot be acquired through normal gameplay, and require commands or mods to obtain. They serve various purposes during events within the game. If acquired, they will usually have a Lockedchest13w18b.png missing texture.

Block height

Video

History

Pre-classic
rd-132211 You can now place and destroy blocks.
rd-160052 There is now support for different block types.
New particles are shown when you destroy a block.
New support for dynamic blocks.
You can now "pick" blocks.
Classic
0.0.22a Added multiple sounds for blocks.
0.24 Breaking blocks allows you to pick them up and place them, thus adding and removing them from your inventory.
0.24_02 You now have to hold down the mouse button to break blocks, creating a block-breaking animation.
0.27 SURVIVAL TEST 10 The player began with 10 TNT blocks and could obtain dirt, cobblestone from stone, wooden planks from wood, gold blocks from gold ore, iron blocks from iron ore, stone slabs from coal ore, and white wool from sheep.
0.28 Right click now adds blocks and left click removes them.
The player could build with naturally occurring blocks, and can use bookshelf, sponge, colored wool, brick, obsidian and moss stone. Operators of servers could also build bedrock. Some custom servers gave the ability to place grass blocks and fluid blocks, too.
All new block types were added.
Indev
December 25, 2009 You can now drop blocks on the ground.
You can also pick up blocks that are thrown on the ground.
January 22, 2010 Blocks can now be placed on resource items. As a result, resource items will be pushed off.
January 25, 2010 New block particles.
Official release
1.7.2 13w37a The ability to obtain the item form of 26 technical blocks were removed. These were the bed (26), piston head and extension (34 & 36), redstone wire (55), wheat crops (59), standing and wall sign (63 & 68), wooden and iron door (64 & 71), lit redstone ore (74), unlit redstone torch (75), sugar cane (83), cake (92), unpowered and powered repeater (93 & 94), pumpkin and melon stem (104 & 105), nether wart (115), brewing stand (117), cauldron (118), lit redstone lamp (124), tripwire (132), flower pot (140), skull (144), and unpowered and powered comparator (149 & 150).
1.8 14w25a The ability to obtain the item form of 12 technical blocks were removed. These were flowing and stationary water and lava blocks (8, 9, 10 & 11), double stone and wooden slabs (43 & 125), fire blocks (51), nether and end portal blocks (90 & 119), cocoa pods (127), and potato and carrot crops (141 & 142).
Blocks now show the closest item form to themselves as the icon in the superflat settings menu.
14w26b All technical blocks except for the monster spawner (52) and farmland (60) have a missing texture in the inventory, Lockedchest13w18b.png.
Pocket Edition Alpha
Pre-release Added exclusive cyan flower and invisible bedrock.
0.2.0 Breaking blocks allows you to pick them up and place them, thus adding and removing them from your inventory.
0.2.1 Added block breaking animation.
0.5.0 Added exclusive nether reactor core and glowing obsidian.
0.6.0 Added exclusive stonecutter.

Issues

Issues relating to "Block" are maintained on the issue tracker. Report issues there.

See also

References